Sleeping and Dreams

September 7, 2009


Sometimes after a long shift at Branches Christian Bookstore in Vancouver I would find myself between dreams and wakefulness organizing and shelving books.  I don’t know if I was awake, asleep or somewhere in between (nightmares?).  Whatever the case was, I can tell you the result was not restful.

Yes, one of the guys in our church has this shirt.

Yes, one of the guys in our church has this shirt.

This week I found myself in a similar situation, but this time, instead of organizing books, I was translating in to Dutch!  Its very strange to have to force yourself to wake up enough to be able to tell yourself to dream in a language that will allow you to rest!

I’m sure the grammar was horrible and the vocab was off, but I’m still trying to figure out if my sleeping mind beginning to speak Dutch is a good thing…your thoughts?

One Response to “Sleeping and Dreams”

  1. Mom Says:

    Joey, YES! YES! YES!! Interacting with the dutch language in your sleep, be it dreaming in dutch or anything like that, is a very good sign that your mind is being infiltrated by the dutch language on a very basic level. It is also an encouraging answer to our ongoing prayer for you as a senders team.


Leave a Reply

