Leading to Ensure No One Follows

October 14, 2009


Over the past weeks and months I’ve spent a fair amount of time thinking about and learning to practice mission with God in his world.  As I read Scripture, and as I look around me I am discovering more and more how God is and has always been on mission in this world.  Since the first bite of the fruit God has been working to heal all that been broken through the caustic decisions of sinful humanity.  As his image bearers and as the “new creation” (2 Cor. 5:17), “created in Christ Jesus for good works” (Eph. 2:10), I have been fitted for mission with my God.  More than that, if my salvation is found through identifying with Christ, then the life that I now live in flesh is meant to be the same type of life Jesus lived–and his was an intensely  mission oriented life!

[Getting back off the soap box…]

As I explore this life Jesus has implanted in me, I am also looking for ways to lead others into this same life as well.  And here lies the dilemma.

Following Jesus in to the life he is calling us to (we are “followers” aren’t we?) is obviously not something we can program.  We can’t call people to the church and call it “following Jesus.”  Calling people to Jesus will mean they follow him in every sphere they inhabit, every rhythm of life.  How does a person lead so that the “followers” will follow someone else?

Thoughts?

-JW

Leave a Reply

