Change the World – Review/Synopsis

September 23, 2010


If you may have talked with me about politics in the last month or two, there’s a good chance you’ve heard me reference a book called To Change the World by James Hunter.  To be totally forthcoming, I have not read this book.  Pretty lame huh?  Well, I have found a review/synopsis by a James K. A. Smith that I highly recommend for those of you who, like me, are vying for the presidency of the I-have-more-books-than-I-will-ever-read-on-my-to-read-list club.

The review brings Hunter’s argument to bear in a succinct, accessible and challenging way.  Definitely check it out if you’re frustrated with the political system, if you’ve heard about the apparent “culture war”, if you shilled “Christian wares at a reasonable price” in the Christian subculture (like I have) or you just want a different take on what it means to engage the world as a follower of Jesus.

Good review.  Good read.

Go check out the review, go buy the book, and then come back and let me have it in the comments.

EDIT: James K. A. Smith and James Hunter have a new piece up at The Other Journal titled “Neither Triumphalism nor Retreat: A Conversation about Faithful Presence with James Davison Hunter.”  It has some more good clarification, but it tends to be a bit more heady as well.

Leave a Reply

