New Books in the Hopper

September 8, 2011


Being firmly planted in the soil of my new ripe old age, and freshly armed with an Amazon gift card (thank you Ingrams!), I thought it high time I pull the trigger on some books that have long sat in my Amazon wish list.

So, in no particular order, here are the latest books being added to the Wulf library:

Missional: Joining God in the Neighborhood by Alan J. Roxburgh – Alan Roxburgh is an author I’ve benefitted from, quoted and read some (as a co-author in my current read Missional Church). This will be my first just Roxburgh book though, and I’m very much looking forward to it on both practical and theological grounds.

The Missional Church in Perspective: Mapping Trends and Shaping the Conversation by Craig Van Gelder and Dwight J. Zscheile – As the continuation of Missional Church, (published in 1998), I’m looking forward to reading this book to dig deeper into the developments the authors have been seeing over the last thirteen years (has it been so long?).  My expectations for this book are in line with the foresight and relevance Missional Church has continually to impress me with.

A Meal with Jesus: Discovering Grace, Community and Mission around the Table by Tim Chester – Next in a growing line of works from Tim Chester (behind You Can Change and Total Church) is A Meal with Jesus.  This book made the cut for two reasons: I think it will help Kate and I continue to learn how to allow the Spirit to redeem our rhythms of life and I think it may be a good resource to help the body at REALITY to grow in the same direction.

Before I get to any of these books however, I still have around 75 or so pages in Missional Church to read (pages, I might add, which I am very much looking forward to reading!)

So, with the list out there, and another 75 pages yet to read in Missional Church, I’m taking votes for which book I should start first.  Which book sounds most interesting and why?

Leave a Reply

